Skip to main content

ESS Faculty Receive Excellence Awards

Joel Cormier received the Excellence in Service award from Chair Jack Rutherford

Four Department of Exercise and Sport Science faculty received excellence awards at the Department's annual Honor Awards Day ceremony on May 13. Dr. Matt Sabin received the Excellence in Advising Award. The award is voted by the students, who cited Dr. Sabin's caring nature and attentiveness.

Dr. Joel Cormier received the Excellence in Service Award for his work with the EKU Hockey Club. Since arriving at EKU, Dr. Cormier has served as the club's coach, manager, recruiter, and fundraiser. This past season, the club achieved its first winning record and was the third highest revenue-generating sport, despite having only club status at EKU. 

Dr. Michael Lane was awarded the Excellence in Scholarship Award for his extensive research presentations and grant-funded projects, including the relationships between body composition and offensive performance of softball players. 

Dr. Jim Larkin received the Excellence in Teaching Award for his outstanding work in the classroom. Dr. Larkin emphasizes the practical application of theory in his teaching areas in Physical Fitness and Wellness Management. 

Congratulations to all.

Published on May 17, 2016

Open /*deleted href=#openmobile*/